Why are the application can keep track of our location when it is not needed
Not so long ago it became known that the Uber app tracks location of users and can do it for several weeks after the last trip. Curiously, some users could not see this. The company explained how it happened, and it turns out that not only the Uber app engages in the behavior.
The company said that following the users not the app Uber, and the extension for Maps in iOS , which has been activated by some users. The default extension for the Card is disabled but can be enabled in the iOS settings.
The ability to integrate your app in the standard Map came from developers with the release of iOS 10. Expansion Cards designed to give you the opportunity to order an Uber directly from the Maps app. When iOS said that location data is used by Uber app, in fact it may not be so. Quite possibly, it’s a standard app from Apple uses your data.
Many agreed on the opinion that it would be nice to introduce a new color of the indicator definition of geolocation that would give to understand what data were used by extension and not the application itself.
If your iPhone have apps with extension support for Maps, you can enable them in the settings section “Maps”.